Nepal Satellite Telecom

Nepal being a developing country, there are tremendous business opportunities in the communication sector. The country has a population of about 30 millions. Until few years ago, the Telecom penetration of the country was merely 20%. However, the recent growth of Telecommunication sector has been remarkable resulting in over 75% Telecom penetration today.

Nepal Satellite Telecom Pvt. Ltd (NSTPL), brand name “Hello Nepal” has been operating GSM based mobile services since November 16, 2009. Nepal Satellite Telecom has acquired about 150,000 subscribers in Mid western development zone of Nepal.

NSTPL was registered with Department of Industry in July 2005 and has acquired Basic Telecommunications License from Nepal Telecom Authority (NTA) on 17 March, 2008 to roll out Fixed, GSM based Limited mobility services across Republic of Nepal. The spectrum for both the GSM (900/1800Mhz) has been granted by NTA.

The license allows NSTPL to roll out Fixed & Mobile services nationwide on the following manner:

Phase I – Cover Mid-Western Development Region (MWDR) of Nepal – which is the largest development zone of Nepal and occupies roughly 25% geographical area of Nepal.  MWDR has 15 administrative districts. NSTPL has also been granted International Gateway license and is allowed to operate ISD services using its own Gateway upon completion of Phase I. Currently, NSTPL is allowed to operate ISD services using its own gateway.

Phase II – Cover Far Western Development Region (FWDR) & Western Development Region (WDR)

Phase III – Cover rest of the country (i.e., Central Development Region- CDR & Eastern Development Region- EDR)


NSTPL is the third private company providing GSM service in Nepal, but the first to start the service from very rural part of the country, Mid Western Development Region, MWDR, which is least developed region with no significant physical infrastructure.

NSTPL has completed its phase I obligation by deploying networks in all 15 districts of Nepal and is poised to extend services across the nation under Phase II (Western Development Region-WDR) and Phase III (Central & Eastern Development Region – CDR & EDR).